Wednesday, February 29, 2012

Politics and governance in Indonesia

Indonesia to govern a democratic multiparty presidential republic. As well as in other democratic countries, the political system in Indonesia is based on the Trias Politica namely the legislative, executive and judicial branches. Legislative power is held by an institution called the People's Consultative Assembly (MPR).

MPR was once the highest state institution unicameral, but after the 4th amendment to the Assembly is not the highest body again, and also changed the composition of its membership. Assembly after the 1945 amendment, which since 2004 was transformed into a bicameral body consisting of 560 members of the House of Representatives (DPR) which is representative of the people through political parties, plus the 132 members of the Regional Representatives Council (DPD) which is the provincial representative of an independent pathway. DPR and DPD members elected by popular vote and was inaugurated for a term of five years. Previously, members of the Assembly are all members of Parliament plus group representatives and military / police. MPR is currently chaired by Taufiq Kiemas. DPR is currently chaired by Marzuki Alie, while the Council is currently chaired by Irman Gusman.

Executive agencies centered on the president, vice presidents, and cabinet. Cabinet in Indonesia is that the Presidential Cabinet of ministers responsible to the president and does not represent a political party in parliament. However, the current President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono that promoted by Democrats also pointed to a number of leaders of political parties to sit in his cabinet. The goal is to maintain the stability of the government given the strong position of the legislature in Indonesia. However, items of strategic importance and are generally filled by a minister without portfolio of the party (coming from someone who is considered an expert in his field).

The judicial institution since the reform and the amendment of the 1945 run by the Supreme Court, the Judicial Commission, and the Constitutional Court, including the administration of the judges. Nevertheless the presence of the Minister of Justice and Human Rights will be retained.

No comments:

Post a Comment